Cambuslang Harriers is a Scottish Athletics accredited running club
1 / 3
Members of Cambuslang Harriers witness the presentation of the AT Mays shield
Cambuslang Harriers are presented with the AT Mays' Trophy
2 / 3
Cambuslang Harriers senior mens team at the ERRA 12 Stage Relays
Cambuslang Harriers at the ERRA 12 Stage Relays
3 / 3
Members of Cambuslang Harriers at the club's Christmas handicap race
The club Christmas Handicap 2019
Cambuslang Harriers is a Scottish Athletics accredited running club
Who are Cambuslang Harriers?

Cambuslang Harriers, since its formation in 1948, has become one of the premier cross country and road running clubs across all age groups in Scotland. We also have a very talented girls and ladies group who now regularly win major team honours.

Learn More...

Who do you cater for?

Although we are a very successful club most of our members are in the club to run and train with like-minded individuals. They enjoy the company on training nights as they endeavour to improve their fitness and performance. We cater for anyone from the young athlete taking part in athletics for the first time to the older runner who just wishes to keep fit, and who may never wish to race competitively. Cambuslang Harriers also welcomes athletes with a disability, learning difficulties and those from ethnic minorities wishing to participate in athletics.

Join Us


We are as a club affiliated to Scottish Athletics and adhere to their standards in terms of athlete development and with their code of conduct for all club members and volunteers.

We want you to share in the feel good factor that we as a club strive to create and to be aware of the benefits that running can bring to the health and wellbeing of all of our members.

Here is how we plan to do this for all of our junior and senior athletes:

• We want all of our members to enjoy the fun of running, be it on the road, the muck and mud of cross country, or on the track, we do it all.
• We aim to build on their athletic capability and nurture them to become the very best athlete they can be.
• Empower them to achieve their goals in a competitive environment.
• In line with Scottish Athletics and UK Athletics best practice, we take a long term view of our athletes and our coaching structure is designed to support this.
• Our volunteer team of coaches are all professionally trained and vetted.

Persevere is the club’s motto and to be inspired is the name of the game.

Competition is what we train for; building resilience and a real sense of achievement.

Cambuslang Harriers has a proud reputation of being a community-based club and also a high performing club where as Usain Bolt says, ‘running and training bring pain’. But this is balanced with the feel good factor and the sense of achievement you get when you take part and give of your best.

Des Dickson
Club President, Cambuslang Harriers

Latest News & Events

Interested in joining Cambuslang?

During the recent lockdown many people have either found running to be an enjoyable form of exercise or rediscovered their passion for running. With a pathway now set for easing restrictions you might be thinking about the ways to continue your running post lockdown. Most people join Cambuslang Harriers for the opportunity to run with like-minded individuals, to stay motivated, get fit and enjoy the social side of running in a group. Some people join because they want to take their running to the next level and take part in competitions. Whatever your goal you will be welcome at the […]



Members of Cambuslang Harriers were involved last weekend in a Club 5K and in the Scottish Athletics Virtual 3K Run which was the qualifier for the Scottish Short Course Cross Country Event.  The necessary health and safety precaution on the quiet and largely unused Shawfield circuit were again put in place by the club.  As previously the 16 5K runners were arranged into smaller groups with staggered starts and the same principle was applied to the 13 under 15, 17 and 20 3K athletes present.  Occasions such as this could not be held without the careful thought and planning of […]



Members of Cambuslang Harriers took part in a Covid19 planned 3k Cross Country training event having carefully risk assessed this in light of current National guidance in Tollcross Park while Moira Stewart represented the Czech Republic in the World Half Marathon Road Championships in Poland. The necessary health and safety precautions, such as athletes registering their details in advance, having their temperature taken just prior to the run and being set off in 5 waves of small groups at 30 second intervals, were put in place by Des Dickson, Dave Thom, Ritchie Carr, Fiona Pollock and Mike Johnston. The athletes […]



Over the last 2 months there have been some opportunities for Cambuslang athletes to participate in several races which had the necessary and crucial health safety precautions in place. Grant Sheldon, Fraser Stewart and new member Jamie Traynor racing in England and Moira Stewart in Bratislava and Prague took their opportunity to post fast times.  Grant ran a superb 13.51 for a 5K podium road race for elite athletes which ranks him first in Scotland for this distance in 2020.  Fraser and Jamie ran well in the Barrowfield Podium 10K to record 31.49 and 33.09 respectively which was a 25 […]


Club Update, 24th May

I hope you are well and keeping safe. As we have said, it is important to keep in touch and keep connected during the lockdown. Great to see some taking the advantage of taking part in the virtual runs. We are looking to our juniors and seniors to take part if you can in the Scottish Athletics 15min or 30min run over the coming weekend. Our juniors are invited to do the 15mins, so let’s see you out there and giving it a go, and do not worry about your time, taking part is the goal. We said we would […]


Cambuslang on Twitter
Down By the River Races

The 2020 edition of the Down by the River Races was held on Sunday 1st March at 11:00, results are now online

Thanks to everyone who joined us for the race despite the difficult conditions. Hope to see you all again for the next edition of the Down by the River Races in 2021.


How to Find Us

Cambuslang Harriers,
Cambuslang Rugby & Sports Club,
Langlea Road,
G72 8FH

Regular club runs leave from the clubhouse in Cambuslang on a Tuesday and Thursday evening, for more details see our training page.

For more information about how to join the club see our joining page.

For contact details of key people at the club see our contacts page.

All Content Copyright © 2007-2020, Cambuslang Harriers   I   Site design by No Lesser Panda